English Key Stage 3 & 4 

There are four separate curriculum areas in English:

  • reading

  • writing

  • grammar and vocabulary

  • spoken English

English is usually taught in ability sets in KS3. The curriculum will be the same, but higher sets will be working at a higher level, while lower sets will be given more support. 

The main aim of the English curriculum is to promote high standards of language and literacy by equipping pupils with a strong command of the spoken and written word and to develop their love of literature through reading for enjoyment across a wide range of styles and genres.